Athena Swan

Athena Swan promotes and supports the diversity of all staff in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), and aims to address gender, race and sexual orientation inequalities and imbalance in these disciplines and, in particular, the under-representation of certain groups in senior roles.

Tuesday, 22 December 2015

Institute of Physics Research Student Conference Fund

The Institute of Physics provides financial support to research students to attend international meetings and major national meetings. The Institute of Physics (IOP) handles the application process but it is the relevant IOP group that makes the decision on whether to award the bursary and its value.

Am I eligible?Research Student Conference Fund (RSCF) bursaries are available to PhD students who are a member of the Institute and of an appropriate Institute group. For example, if an applicant is a member of the Women in Physics Group only then they could only seek support to attend a conference related to women in physics and not to low temperature physics. To be eligible for that meeting, the applicant would also need to be a member of the Low Temperature Group.

What is the bursary worth?
Students may apply for up to £300 during the course of their PhD. Students may apply more than once, for example they may request the full amount or decide to request a smaller amount and then apply for funding again for another conference at a later stage.
Groups have limited funds to award bursaries and so students may not receive the full amount they have requested. If the full amount is not awarded students may apply again to receive further support for a different conference until they reach £300 overall.
Note that grants will normally cover only part of the expenses incurred in attending a conference and are intended to supplement grants from other sources.

Read more, and apply, here.

Monday, 14 December 2015

SEES Athena SWAN Bronze award application

The SEES Athena SWAN committee confirms that our first Athena SWAN Departmental Bronze award application has been submitted to ECU for consideration. The application deadline was 12th of December. We expect feedback from the panel and the results of the submission in spring 2016. Hopefully our efforts will be recognized with a Bronze Award.
Thank you very much to all committee members for helping with the preparation of the application document, as well as to all other internal University of Portsmouth members that helped us with the peer review process.

Thursday, 3 December 2015

Undergraduate Women in Physics Conference

The University of Oxford is very pleased to host the Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics in the UK, which will take place in March 2016. The application site is now open at and closes on January 18, 2016.
The conference will start with a welcome reception on Thursday evening, March 17, 2016, and end Sunday afternoon, March, 20. It will bring together successful female physicists and 100 undergraduate women in physics to highlight career opportunities for women in physics and the contributions of women in physics. The meeting will provide ample opportunities for interacting with fellow physicists. The conference will include the following activities:

· Presentations by distinguished physicists on their cutting edge research and personal career paths;
· Panels offering guidance on the graduate school application process and featuring career opportunities outside academia;
· Workshops on effective assertiveness, how to take more control over challenging situations, careers confidence, and how to market oneself effectively;
· A tour of ISIS and the Central Laser Facility at RAL and several laboratories at the Department of Physics of the University of Oxford.

Lodging and meals at Lady Margaret Hall will be provided for participants who are accepted to the conference. Please send any questions regarding the CUWiP UK conference to

This conference has been sponsored by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), Institute of Physics (IOP), Ogden Trust, Royal Astronomical Society (RAS), Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), Winton Capital, Lady Margaret Hall, and the Physics Department of the University of Oxford.